Skip to content

Bread and Wine Anyone?

May 28, 2013
tags: ,

Bread and WineToday I mourn the completion of Shauna Niequist’s Bread and Wine, one of those books which makes me think the author should be my new best friend. I was sad to complete it, for I had become enraptured by Shauna’s voice and stories and recipes.

To be honest, it was a fitting theme for me to confront this month. Hospitality has been on my mind for a number of reasons. Though I am now banned from suggesting house projects inspired by Pinterest, I was able to sneak one big idea in this Spring. I convinced handy husband who owns no saw to build us patio seating, while I tackled my first ever sewing project- cushions.

They are charming, I must say! Scrap wood, old stain, recovered pillows from Re-Store. And they seat 9, maybe 12, bodies. Surrounded by our draped bistro lights, it is an inviting space for… guests. Yes. It is time to fill our home again.

Which brings me to the other thought spurring ideas of hospitality. Turkey. Several friends’ journeys related to Turkey have sent my heart back to memory-land. And as I have set memory to word, I have traveled to the many many nights our home was filled with laughter, eating, and celebrating. 

When we dragged the last cushion out back, I sat in the quiet and baked in the sun, making sacred the space I was committing to fill. I am ready to again host and serve and create meals out of ingredients, enjoying fellowship and conversation beneath our little bistro lights.

Shauna’s book was the final touch. The soul food I needed to make it so.

And so this holiday weekend, we enjoyed the company and feasting of new foods and new friends. With inspiration from Shauna’s recipes and hope for delightful conversation, we set about reclaiming the days when serving bread and wine seemed holy.

 

Thank you Shauna.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2013 10:05 am

    Awesome! I’d love to see a picture of that patio set!

  2. cbabruno permalink
    May 29, 2013 1:50 pm

    Awesome. Got wine for tonight?

    Chris Bruno Executive Director, Restoration Project

Leave a Reply

