Skip to content

Do Justice

April 9, 2012

It is hard to know who is more proud. I rarely achieve artistic replications, especially ones from pinterest. But this seemed like such a fun Spring Break activity, from the discussion of Micah 6:8 to tickling their feet with wet paint!

But it is my 5 year old who most embodies this verse these days. This image captures the haunting statements she has made lately, jarring my thoughts…

It began three weeks ago when I told her about doing some art projects with homeless kids. She asked all sorts of questions, not about the pictures of their art work that I was showing her, but about the kids themselves. Where did they stay? What did they eat? Why did they not have homes?

And then, a classic Sophie pause. “Why they can’t sleep on our couch? They can shower in our bathroom!” I say something encouragingly realistic, like, “Well, we can definitely pray that God would take care of them,” but it’s not good enough for her: “I think we are supposed to be the ones to take care of them.” Gulp.

Two weeks later we are in Denver. The Capitol lawn is strewn with sleeping bags. We stand next to a drugged guy on the bus. The kids are big-eyed and aware, full of questions. Sophie declares, “When I grow up I am going to have a job where I help people that really need help.”

A few hours later, I meet Kaylie. We are back downtown, this time without the kids, looking up and down the street for The Cheesecake Factory. She is walking by and gives us directions. Then she asks, not for money, but for some food. As we cross the street to Subway, I ask if she’s from Denver, knowing she probably isn’t. Houston. I ask where she stays, having learned that is the more appropriate word than “live.” Under a bridge. I refrain from asking all of the other questions filling my mind. Later I wonder if we should have sat with her, gotten more for her, taken her home… she could sleep on our couch, use our shower.

Today I took another direction. Met with the Director of Homeless Gear. Talked about training their volunteers in domestic trafficking signs. Kept thinking of Kaylie and my daughter and what it means to Act justly, love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2012 10:45 pm

    Whew! Such challenging experiences. I actually came across your blog because I was thinking about using the same name for a site intended to make fair trade more accessible for the busy consumer.
    I have a 5-month-old son and am anticipating having similar conversations to the ones you write about here in the future. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences. You are an encouragement.

    • Beth Bruno permalink
      April 11, 2012 5:55 pm

      Hi Sarah! Glad you found me. Thanks for your comments, and best of luck to your future conversations in your kitchen!

Leave a Reply

