Skip to content

Because it starts with us

April 27, 2011

There was no pomp and circumstance in our Easter celebration. I mean, none. No big program or extra signs on the road or kids up front singing (our kids would be half) at the church we’ve been attending. And even though we now have relatives nearby, we chose to brood up as a family, snuggle on top of each other in bed, learn that the dog is the only one who likes deviled eggs, and watch part of the Gospel of John, forever different now that “Jesus” has played Desmond in ABC’s Lost.

It was nice. Really nice.

And even though everyone says Easter is about one simple message, sometimes you have to actually make it all simple to get it. To really have it infuse your soul, the message, the point of the whole celebration.

I’ve had help, inspiration, in thinking simple. Not that these are simple concepts, mind you.

A song, sung at church last week, written by the Gungor Band, and you just have to listen thru and hear Easter:

Beautiful Things
“All this pain
I wonder if I’ll ever find my way
I wonder if my life could really change at all
All this earth
Could all that is lost ever be found
Could a garden come up from this ground at all

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

All around
Hope is springing up from this old ground
Out of chaos life is being found in You

You make me new, You are making me new”

And a book so beautiful I started reading it again the day I finished (and not just a ladies book, my husband has devoured it too and claims any summary will not do it justice):

But I will say that it has focused me on simple, and on seeing.

Seeing hope springing from this old ground

and seeing the kingdom come crashing into humanity, causing chaos, but bringing life… out of the dust, making things beautiful, and making me new

Easter

It’s simple

One Comment leave one →
  1. Maureen permalink
    April 27, 2011 4:09 am

    Oh, thank you for posting that song! Our church sang it on Easter Sunday and I have been thinking about it ever since. I loved it and can still feel the bass in my chest.

Leave a Reply

